ISP Review

Rate, Comment, Compare Major New Zealand ISP's

Find yourself the best broadband deal!


Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
ADSL 40GB + Home Phone 40 GB 12 mth $199 $84.99
ADSL 40GB + Home Phone 40 GB 6 mth $99 $84.99
ADSL 80GB + Home Phone 80 GB 12 mth $199 $94.99
ADSL 80GB + Home Phone 80 GB 6 mth $99 $94.99
ADSL Unlimited + Home Phone
Unlimited
12 mth $199 $104.99
ADSL Unlimited + Home Phone
Unlimited
6 mth $99 $104.99
Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
Ultra VDSL 80GB + Home Phone 80 GB 12 mth $199 $104.99
Ultra VDSL Unlimited + Home Phone
Unlimited
12 mth $199 $114.99
Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
Ultra Fibre 80GB Naked 80 GB 12 mth $199 $69.99
Ultra Fibre 40GB + Home Phone 40 GB 12 mth $199 $79.99
Ultra Fibre 80GB + Home Phone 80 GB 12 mth $199 $89.99
Ultra Fibre Unlimited Naked
Unlimited
12 mth $199 $89.99
Ultra Fibre Unlimited + Home Phone
Unlimited
12 mth $199 $99.99
Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
12 mth $299 $89.99
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
Open
$89.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
12 mth $299 $99.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
Open
$99.99
Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
12 mth $299 $119.99
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
Open
$119.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
Open
$129.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
24 mth $299 $129.99
Name Quota Contract ETF Monthly Fee
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
Open
$139.99
Ultra Fast Fibre
Unlimited
12 mth $299 $139.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
12 mth $299 $149.99
Ultra Fast Fibre + Landline
Unlimited
Open
$149.99

Have something to say about Spark?

comments powered by Disqus

Send to a friend

From Name
From Email
To Name
To Email
Comment
  


Spark Spark New Zealand (formerly Telecom New Zealand) is a New Zealand-wide communications service provider (CSP), providing fixed line telephone services, a mobile network, an internet service provider, and a major ICT provider to NZ businesses (through its Spark Digital division). It has operated as a publicly traded company since 1990.


Website: www.spark.co.nz/
Phone: 0800 800 123

Postal Address: Telecom New Zealand Ltd, P.O. Box 1473, Christchurch

Get people to Rate Spark

Add the below link to direct people to your ISPReview Profile.


FeebBack
Comment
Your Name
Your Email
  

Negative Feedback "Now a Spark UFB customer & over years, they have done some helpful things & some rotten too. This month I noticed our usage was 3x normal yet I had not been doing anything different.Spark cust. serv in filipines said that someone else in the building could be using our WiFi, he advised to change our PWD. The rotten part is I went through this process with different staff as computer would no longer connect neither would any other wifi device. Spark kept blaming the printer and the mobile. After 5 hours of hell from them, back and forth to printer company, it was Brother who discovered they had LIED. The PWD that they agreed to and wasted several calls of repeating back was not what they had set it at. They are utter ratbags to do that. Nothing would ever have worked as they lied about the PWD. What does Spark think they are doing allowing another country to control us??? Have never heard of another country putting foreigners before their own people. Spark does that, these filipinos are LIARS. This is the Wlan Key to the UFB, how utterly irresponsible and corrupted. They gave a PWD with all the same single digits, totally lacking in security too. Why do we have to be harrassed so much by Spark with it's foreign employees who WILL NOT talk straight? You ask them to speak to Spark, customer service in NZ, they refuse to transfer your call. Spark should NEVER ever claim they are giving a modem nor any other service when they treat long-term customers like that. They have TOTALLY FAILED."
posted by Kiwi
14/09/2017 9:11pm

Negative Feedback "Ever since we got fibre installed, there has been nothing but frustration, it's not faster, it's not easier, and it's not good. Everytime we try to look at something on Facebook or the Internet in general it goes so slow and more than not it goes back to the icon page, god it's so annoying what is the big deal about fibre??? Fix it please save your customers from the stress and anger that they get from your product . Your certainly don't have Spark at the moment."
posted by Somya
09/03/2017 3:54pm

Positive Feedback "I have had good customer service from staff at Spark New Lynn at the New Lynn Mall. I've been attended courteously and solved many problems I have had with my mobile phone. I'm not a technical person where mobile phones concerned but staff at Spark New Lynn has always helped me. My special thanks goes to Ami at Spark New Lynn and also all the other staff at this shop. Well done guys keep up the good work and excellent customer service."
posted by Parameswari Nagaretnam Andy
31/01/2017 12:15am

Positive Feedback "I bought a Samsung Galaxy mobile phone from Spark New Market Branch in June this year,, with my daughter & son-in-law Harshan Jayasuriya, who is a software engineer in the employed of Spark. We bought 2 mobile phones, (an iPhone and an android). We were served by Joanne Buenaobra. We found her to be very helpful. She went way beyond her call of duty to explain the various features, & to answer all our queries. We were very pleased with her services. We would like to thank her once again for all the help she so readily extended. Sorry, I could not submit this review sooner. Please let Joanne know that we very much appreciate all her help."
posted by Pushpa Peiris
22/11/2016 5:58am

Negative Feedback "I was a spark customer They are the LAST internet provider I would choose. Ive been on the internet in chch since the days of planet and southern internet and ihug etc. Ive not had many problems with isps. Until spark. The salesman outright lied. They take no notice of support emails unless you use their web form. I get no proof of what I said. who knows? Billed for months after asking for closed account. Billed for months for services never received even after multiple requests. Given a refund of SOME of their bill for what I never got and then a debt collection demand for the rest. Spark is and ISP who preys on people with little tech knowledge and believes being "telecom" is all they need. We signed up with big-pipe and Im a bit concerned to now find they are also a telecom company. So far not bad but ill be watching them very closely! Good thing I have no contract term :) I will not recommend spark to my worst enemy. Spark have a shiet reputation and its well well deserved. With their bigpipe isp differneces to me it shows that telecom are well aware of what customers want. Fingers crossed bigpipe stays good once it goes over a number of customers. Heres hoping :)"
posted by Steve
01/10/2016 2:06pm

Positive Feedback "I have been a customer with Telecom/Spark for several years with my mobile / Mobile data and have found their service and connectivity excellent. I have Fiber optic connection with both Spark and Vodafone at another house. Spark connection of 80 Gig monthly 100 down/20 up. They supplied the fiber modem with install both free with a 12 month connection contract. When I email support the response is prompt and the internet download [Ookla] 104 and 20 Upload so slightly above maximum offered. The speed is very stable and consistent with just 4 MS ping. Our Vodafone connection is maxing at 103 MB/S down. Spark also throws in complimentary Lightbox tv, I gig a month of free wifi and knocks of $10 because I have my mobile phone with them too. Excellent service."
posted by R Muusers
23/08/2016 6:47pm

Negative Feedback "This company doesn't deserve your business. After more than 55years as a customer i finally cancelled my account and moved to a other company to save money and get an expanded range if service for less $. Spark ever in all tbose years rang to offer us a better deal..but when we alled tbem they would gives us a slighly better deal. When we finally cancelled they tried to offer a new deal again. Now they are wanting me to pay a severence bill plus overdue charges. Even though our email address was redirectex through them and we never vot their bills anymore. My ad kce go with anogher company and make sure you know exactly what you are getting yourself into."
posted by Axel Henriksen
06/08/2016 9:34am

Negative Feedback "absolutely rubbish service. i dont want to say the f word but this company deserves nothing other than that. move away from this company. they are just eating your money. No sense of customer service. No download speed. No internet for hours. This company should be shutdown. I am paying $110 every month for 30kbps download speed (yes its kbps)"
posted by Huey
21/05/2016 12:59pm

Negative Feedback "Spark NZ 13 What a bunch of incompetent, lacklustre bunch if crap they are.. After 4 weeks of waiting, 15 follow up calls, hours of being on hold, transferred to various departments, repeating the story over and over, broken promises, missed deadlines, I cancelled my connection before it even started. Spark weren't even able to setup a home phone connection let alone an internet connection, I mean how long have they been in the telecommunications and they still can 19t provision a phone line within three weeks, then they start the blame game but at the end of the day they are the service provider so the buck stops with them. Spark 19s Communication (ironically) was non-existent, no emails, no follow up calls nada, the only email we got from them was after I requested it because they decided change our number. Do yourself a favour don 19t bother even trying to use their service you will just waste your time and end up with nothing. All good though I have let me feet do the talking and moved to another provider."
posted by Sparkless
17/05/2016 1:56pm

Negative Feedback "Big nightmare. After 3 weeks of waiting, hours on the phone having to re explain everything, and on it goes. Locked into spark for 2 yrs?????? No thanks"
posted by a bruck
03/04/2016 9:29am

Negative Feedback "Spark internet is THE WORST internet provider. It is a virus. I recommend that no one uses their services ever and I certainly will never use their internet, in my own home, and will tell all my friends and family about the rotten service I have gotten. I live in a boarding situation so I don't make decisions about what internet provider we have, but let me tell you Spark is ridiculously annoying at the best of times. I think they even bullied the home-owner where I am staying into signing up/into a contract because I asked her why she's with Spark and there were none of the reasons you'd expect like it was cheaper than... or I got a good deal on... She is an elderly Asian lady who's second language is English and who is very non confrontational/aims to please everyone. When using the internet where I am staying you will be minding your own business surfing the net; Google, my university course moodle, email what have you and when you click on a link/something/the page refreshes or you open a new tab a Spark website comes up with: "Cannot Access Broadband" (http://192.168.1.254/html/wizard/quickstart.asp) while my computer tells me I have full internet and there is no problem with it according to windows troubleshoot. Sometimes it comes up with a Spark website that requires you to log on and the information you sign into the wifi with is not what they're looking for and I don't know what is, but I SHOULD NOT BE REQUIRED TO HAVE TO SIGN IN EVERY SO OFTEN TO MY INTERNET!!!! I pay whatever amount for the use of internet and I expect it to work not take a five minute break where nothing works and then everything starts to work again. (The only solution is to keep refreshing everything and trying to access google and other sites whilst the Spark keeps redirecting to the website above just like some sort of virus. Until it starts working again that is.) I am not the only person who has experienced this, the home-owner has as well, and the other two boarders also find that this occurs frequently enough to be a nuisance (it shouldn't be occurring at all!) and sometimes causing assignments I'm doing online to fail or a quiz I have to complete to be marked lower than if the internet hadn't crapped out on me at that crucial moment. I have asked why the home-owner doesn't change internet providers and the answer is always because of the contract and whenever she tries to get help they put her on hold for a long time and don't solve the problem. Other internet providers who I have never encountered any such recurrent problems with include Vodafone, and Flip. Flip is great because of the no contract so they have to provide good customer service or you could leave them at any time. Spark on the other hand seems to me to bend over backwards to get you sign a contract without actually conceding anything/ actually sweetening the deal and then completely forgetting about you once you're locked in for the contract duration. I am sorry for the rant but I was just marked at a below fail percentage on an online quiz for class that is forever going to be on my record because of Spark. 100% do not recommend and I will tell everyone I meet who I find out is on Spark to switch companies to any other one before they get locked in to a frankly terrible internet provider. D: D: D: WORST INTERNET COMPANY IN NZ"
posted by Elizabeth Joseph
27/09/2015 6:48pm


Guide Lines
Do report
  • Offensive, garbage or nonsense posts
  • Inactive, obsolete or substantially out of date information
Do not report
  • Companies that have provided bad service or that you have had a dispute with. Please write a review as this is beneficial to others using this site.
  • Companies that have behaved unethically, or dishonestly or that you disagree with. Please write a review.
  • Reporting companies that still exist and are still in business are ingnored
For reasons of quality control we require your name, email address as well as a few words describing why this company should be removed.
Reason
Your Name
Your Email